Home » About


Roosevelt County Conservation District

sign 004

What We Do

Montana’s conservation districts are political subdivisions of state government, created by the legislature in 1939. A non-paid elected and appointed board of supervisors governs the activities of a conservation district. The 58 conservation districts in Montana are part of a national network of over 3,000 conservation districts similarly organized in all 50 states.

Their main function is to conduct local activities to promote conservation of natural resources. The activities vary from district to district, but generally include education or on-the-ground conservation projects. Conservation districts, however, have the authority to pass land use ordinances if necessary to conserve local natural resources. In addition, individuals planning to work in or near a perennial stream or river must first receive a permit from their local conservation district.

Funding for conservation district operations comes from their authority to levy a tax on real property within their district. For conservation projects and educational activities, conservation districts rely heavily on grants from state and federal governments.

The Natural Resources and Conservation Service (NRCS) provides the majority of technical assistance for conservation district activities and the two entities usually share office space when their offices are located in the same towns.

The Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) is required by law to provide the conservation districts with administrative, technical, financial and legal assistance.


Who We Are

Board Members: Chairman: Gina Snyder, Mike Christoffersen, Mark Nelson, Buzz Mattelin, Dana Berwick, David Anderson, and Ray Smith.

District Administrator: Tifney Kempton
District Conservationist: Rob Bray
Soil Conservationists: Tammy Olson, Tom Beck
Soil Conservation Technician: Janet Wilson

When We Meet

Our board meetings are held the first Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. in the USDA office located at 508 E 6th, Culbertson, MT. All meetings are open to the public.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s